High School Seniors Cash Out

Salute to Education Inc., a scholarship program created and funded by the Miami-Dade and Broward County Ford and Lincoln dealers and Ford Motor Company, awarded $168,000 in scholarships and laptop computers to 112 recent high school graduates during the 24th Annual Salute to Education Scholarship Awards Luncheon. This year, the Salute to Education Strength and Courage Award was awarded to Charlie Rothkopf, Victoria Proietto and Logan Mitchell from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School for being unsung heroes during the Feb 14th tragedy. During the event, 112 high school seniors from each county (Miami-Dade and Broward) received $1,500 in scholarships and laptops as they were honored on stage. The luncheon was emceed by Shireen Sandoval, Co-Host of WSVN’s Deco Drive, and Ambrosio Hernandez, News Anchor at Univision 23, Miami. Gregg Snowden from South Florida Ford presented the Salute to Education Strength and Courage Awards to the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School students.

In addition, Ernst Modock from Ford Motor Company awarded the 5th Annual Ross Roberts Mentor of the Year Award to four High School Advisors for helping students with test prep and navigating the college application system. These mentors received a $1,000 gift card for technology supplies. Representatives from South Florida Ford and Salute to Education Executive Steering Committee members, David Menten, President of Sawgrass Ford, and Victor Benitez, General Manager of Gus Machado Ford, helped distribute the $1,500 scholarship checks and laptops to each student.

Rolando Garcia, Dr. David Shulman, Dr. Avis Proctor, and Victor Benitez

Charlie Rothkopf and Gregg Snowden

David Menten and Shemey James

Miami-Dade County High School students receive $84k in Scholarships

Stephanie Consuegra and Victor Benitez

Angela Moon, Jan Spivak, and Ernst Modock

Broward County High School students receive $84k in Scholarships

Victoria Proietto and Gregg Snowden

Photo credit: Omar Angel